In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate online without face-to-face contact. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, manifold aspects of life have undergone massive changes, such as the way people shop, work, and communicate with no need of face-to-face interaction. Although there could be a number of drawbacks involved in this trend, the benefits accruing to online life are by no means negligible.

On the plus side, the advantages for the internet world are numerous. To begin with, spending more quality time with their family, many employees are able to work remotely. This simply means that there can be no time constraints and stressful commuting for them. In addition, prospective buyers now are capable of conveniently purchasing their needs online, irrespective of how far-flung corners of the country they reside. Finally, it has never been easier and more convenient to make contact with each another throughout the entire history. The internet has laid the groundwork for the communication of millions of people across the globe. Take those social network applications like Instagram or Whats app as an example; they have expedited human’s interaction on a massive scale. Therefore, online life has revolutionised the way people live in various facets.

However, the downside cannot be ignored. The most axiomatic argument may be concerned with people’s means of communication. To explain more, the more these aforementioned social applications are used, the fewer people are bound to have face-to-face interaction with one another. As a result, day by day, people are forgetting the importance and value of true means of socialising in the old-faction way through in-person interactions.

In conclusion, online life, like everything else, has its ups and downs. I, however, think that it is more a positive development; since many social and time-related conundrums have been totally eradicated by the existence of the internet.