In the modern world, many children spend a lot of time in front of computers, televisions, and smartphones. This is very harmful to them. To what extent do you agree?

Many youngsters pass a huge amount of time on electronic gadgets these days. It can be proved to be extremely damaging to them. I strongly agree with this for two reasons that will be discussed in this essay.

Firstly, computers and smartphones can cause a severe effect on the vision of growing children. While using digital devices, children tend to blink their eyes half of the normal blink rate which can lead to dryness and irritation. Numerous studies have consistently found that excessive use of electronic devices can cause nearsightedness. For such reasons, the use of digital devices must be restricted to a certain limit.

The second reason why I disapprove prolonged screen use for children is that it can cause a negative effect on their social and communication skills. The children who spend their time more on smartphone screens are more likely to overlook all the social activities happening in the surroundings which might result in decreasing their empathic connection towards others. Recent research proved that when people develop the habit of taking out their phones at any free period, they lose the drive to communicate with people in person. It shows that excessive usage of time over screen is hurtful for children.

To conclude, smartphone usage by children has dramatically increased in recent times. It has been debated in this essay that how this increase has created negative implications on eyesight and face-to-face communication of children. In my opinion, excessive exposure to computer screens is dangerous for children.