More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life but city life can be extremely difficult Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city How can governments make urban life better for everyone

One of the most contemporary issues that receive concerns from various parts of the world is the significant development in urbanization. There has been an increasing number of people who move to urban areas to seek a better living standard; however life in these cities often brings to inhabitants various hardship situations. The following paragraphs would analyzed some problems with some plausible solutions being indicated to tackle this phenomenon.

It can be undeniable that a large number of migrants travelling to cities could be confronted with different tough situations. To begin with, the cost of living exerts considerable pressure on new inhabitants. Particularly, it is the fact that expenditures spent on daily needs including transports, housing, or gas in a metropolis area are much higher than those in a countryside or small village. Moreover, people travelling from the countryside to economic centres could provoke some public disorders which would be related to the high rate of crimes and poverty. Furthermore, citizens would face environmental degradation which often occurs in most metropolitan areas. Take the polluted air issue as an example, the emission of numerous industrial factories or transports could damage the air quality which may be related to some severe diseases. Another obstacle is a lack of job opportunities due to the overwhelmed migrants, posing a threat to social welfare.

To avoid this problem worsening, some reasonable steps should be implemented. Firstly, it is highly desirable that governments should invest financial funds in the building of affordable or social housing to reduce the cost of living. Secondly, it would be a worthwhile idea if politicians launch a vehicle control policy to put a curb on traffic congestion around city centres. Thirdly, it is beneficial for authorities to establish industrial factories, and businesses in suburban areas instead of urban regions, helping the suitable labour resources between the countryside and the big cities.

In conclusion, migrants from underdeveloped regions to developed areas would encounter several hazzard circumstances which require immediate attention. Only when the government and local authorities make concerted efforts could this problem be efficiently handled.