As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Job satisfaction is believed to be an important aspect of one’s self-satisfaction and a happy life. To be satisfied with a job, many expectations need to be fulfilled and it is a matter of debate whether a job satisfaction exists or not.

So how do we define job satisfaction and which elements are essential for an agreeable job? Firstly, an individual should choose a job that matches his skill set and where he could find mental satisfaction. A job that provides a sense of fulfilment, secure working environment and pays well is a desired job for many. Traditionally, a job that has a social status, better pay scale and gives freedom to an employee is said to be a dream job. Unfortunately, not all of us have such dream jobs. Some other important factors like adequate holidays, compensations, learning opportunity, career growth, a decent boss, nice colleagues, job security and fair working environment are often considered the most important aspects of a job. I believe a nice job should guarantee progress - both skills and remuneration. For example, training courses that help employee gain new skills would help improve his career and therefore benefit his workplace and his community as well.

Since job satisfaction and expectation of employee change with time, it is almost unrealistic to define a job which is perfect and completely satisfactory for all. While some people are unsatisfied with their jobs because of poor payment, others complain about the future prospect. Even if these criteria are met in a job, some people would start complaining about other aspects. That is why it is quite unrealistic that each and every employee would be happy in their workplace.

In conclusion, some common factors like salary, respect, learning opportunity, work environment and job security could be influential aspects for job satisfaction but it is quite impossible for all employees to be happy in their job environment.