In nearly all science courses at university there are significantly more male students than female students What is the reason for this What could be done to balance out the numbers

There is no doubt that science is considered as a boon for the advancement of modern civilization these days. However, majority of the science majors in University have always been dominated by male students rather than female students. This negative trends can be attributed to many factors, namely negative stereotypes involving females and conservative mentality against them. In order to reduce this gap, a number of solutions can be implemented.

Looking firstly at the causes, one of the most obvious reasons for reduced number of female students is the ever-lasting gender prejudices that persist in our society. In other words, in our community, females are confined to perform only household chores and raise children, whereas males are considered to be the provider for the family. As a result, families find it resonable to invest more money in males instead of females. In contrast, funding girls for higher education is a wastage of money to them .Consequently, this usually act as a major hindrance for women to enrol in basic education let alone scientific subjects at universities. Another causative factor is the tendency to give girls early marriage. This is because, it is quite a common thinking in our community that the sooner the girls get married, the better. For instance, a recent study revealed that 45% of the teenage girl in Bangladesh are compelled to get married even before they reach the age of 18.

To combat this issue, two effective solutions can be administered. One would be to empower women, which is likely to pave the way for women to achieve higher education. This can only be implemented if the government aware it's people by campaigning about the role of female in science subjects. For example, government can encourage the young girls to opt for scientific subjects by telling them the immense contribution of Marie curie and other female scientist into this field. To deal with the early marriage, government can enforce stringent laws. This would act as a deterrent for the familes contemplating to marry off their girls before they reach maturity. Furthermore, goverment should fine or give punisment, if anyone defies this law. If government had imposed this law earlier, then many women would have been able to study without any interruption and the number of female in science subjects would have increased.

In conclusion, underestimating women in our society as well as early marriages are two of the main reasons for decreased number of female in science-related subjects;however, this issue is not insurmountable. In my view, both the parents and the government should be responsible to tackle this problem, and they should begin by considering some of the solution proposed above.