New stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some pp say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this.

Stories, these days, are becoming more visually appealing as they generally come with enthralling pictures and other media content. According to some people, this methodology is becoming more popular and effective than mere words. I agree with this statement and shall discuss my views in the paragraphs written below.

One of the primary reasons behind images attracting more people is that they effortlessly capture viewers’ attention. As they say, a picture speaks a thousand words, and the realistic side of visual media can help TV channels and newspapers increase their potential customers. As a result, the viewership of news channels increases as people stay hooked for a longer time period. Hence, it is clearly evident that preferring to add images can help TV channels and newspapers thrive in their businesses.

Another noteworthy reason behind pictures getting prominence is the fact that they make the news article or content look aesthetically pleasing. It is because pictures help in distinguishing and sorting between varying articles. In a way, it results in better readability and readers get to focus better when they are interested. For instance, newspapers that used to be published in the 70s or 80s didn’t include many images; thus, they looked unattractive and dull compared to the newspapers of the 21st century. Thus, it is clear that images play an integral role in reports to make them interesting.

Nevertheless, adding too many pictures and colourful content can be deviating and confusing. The reader might focus on the vibrant parts with less crucial information rather than paying attention to the important parts. Yet, many education boards are accepting pictures and other media resources in the teaching process as a majority of people feel that it will help the learners to remember essential data and will develop cognitive skills if used in sufficient amounts.

Concluding the essay, I would like to affirm my opinion that pictures in the media are important as they help TV programs and newspapers increase the viewership as well as readability of their published articles.