Not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries, what are the reasons? What are the effect on the society?

Nowadays, numerous students had no tendency towards choosing their studies in science in tertiary education. This problem happens due to some reasons, and it can have some adverse impacts on society.

On one hand, it is the complexity of science course that affect learner' choices. These subjects are usually more difficult and demanding, which require students from having any free time. Consequently, science subjects seem to be less attractive to adolescents compared to business-related or language subjects. In addition, unlike other literature courses, it is truly rare that the knowledge learned from science courses can be used in daily life, decreasing the motivation of students to select them.

A shortage of learners in science fields would negatively affect the running of the society. For one thing, if nobody take this course in universities and colleges, the awareness of basic science foundations will decline, countless scientific research and projects will have to get into a massive paralysis. Moreover, it will impede people's ability to accept new technology. For instance, a great number of individuals blindly curb genetically modified food simply due to they don't know about it.

To conclude, the most concerned effect focuses on whether young brains who are good at creativity and thinking different join in scientific research, if not, the whole society would lose power and motivation to more forward.