Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.Why might this be the case?What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Compared to working for a specific employer, nowadays people prefer working for themselves. The causes behind this phenomenon are the highly competitive job market and the flexible working time. However, self-employment sometimes is disadvantageous due to the unstable income and frequent extra working hours.

The reasons that people choose to be self-employed are its accessibility and flexibility. Unlike working for companies, which require candidates to be professional and competent, starting one's own business is relatively easy and feasible. People have a wider range of choices from providing various household services to offering professional consultations. These types of small businesses can start from anywhere with low cost and investment. The second cause that people want to pursue self-employment is its flexible schedule. Tired of the traditional 9 to 5 routines, people are tempted by freely managing their time, which also means more time with family or for entertainment. As a result, an increasing number of self-employers emerge because of the fact that being freelancers are comparatively easier than being employees.

However, working for oneself does have its dark side. Lacking a stable income and extra working hours are two primary drawbacks of self-employment. On the contrary to working for an employer and receiving paychecks biweekly, self-employed persons cannot guarantee money in their accounts every month. It will inevitably lead to a tight budget and a stressful life. Moreover, opposite to their original expectations on free time arrangements, the actual situation usually requires them to work overtime. It is quite common to see those small business owners have to work 7 days a week and 365 days a year without breaks at all, simply because they couldn't afford to stop even one day. Consequently, most self-employers experience a life pattern with huge pressure instead of relaxation.

In conclusion, the attractions of working for oneself rely on its easiness to start and the expectations of freedom. Nevertheless, the negative aspects of being self-employed shouldn't be neglected, namely, unguaranteed income and extra-long working hours.