Nowadays many young people are often spending their free time in a shopping center. This has a negative effect on the youth and the society to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

Shopping centres, became the places, where majority of teenagers spend most of their time. I’m totally agree with this statement as I have experienced crowds of youth, hanging out inside the climatised shops. For young people, shopping is something like a drug or sport activity which they couldn’t resist. Instead of spending their time for leisure in parks, beaches or playgrounds, their focus is one of the big shopping centres located around even the small cities. This essay will state my opinions and give examples.

With developing a shopping centres around the suburban areas, many of teenagers finding this place as a main point of their interest. There is a group of young people, who found shopping as a hobby and shopping centres giving them plenty of opportunities to shop and been entertain in a cinema or play zone while or after shopping. However, this habit has a negative influence to teens. With uncontrolled shopping, new generation will not be able to manage their finance. Independence in their young life and endless money from their guardians won’t learn them to manage their money in adult’s life.

From another hand, there is a second group of youth, who spend their spare time around a shopping centres. This group can be called vandals, or another side of teenage society. These teens don’t shop in a shopping centres, but hanging around a parking slots, between the buildings of shopping centre. As I could experienced, these youngsters make a graffiti on the walls, drinking alcohol, smoking weed and could be dangerous for shopping centre visitors. Nowadays this behaviour is not tolerated in metropolitan areas, as public is alert and reporting this behaviour to police, unfortunately environment around shopping centres, giving our young society this opportunity.

To summarise, adults should pay more attention what their kids doing after school and over the weekends. This era makes us living under pressure and been selfish, but as a parents we have to raise our children to prevent either dependence on shopping or unacceptable behaviour.