Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern complex and competitive world having children at early-stage of marriage means extra financial burden, perhaps due to this, an increasing number couples in these days prefer to have children later in their life. Despite the fact that maternity at older age can render some health complications, I believe the advantages in the form of maturity to handle responsibilities far outweigh the disadvantages.

The predominant reason why most couples defer pregnancy is financial insecurity. It is a well-known fact that people in this intensively competitive world struggle to secure a regular job or fixed income, so they focus on their careers and earnings without thinking about a child, which will perhaps aids to their financial worries. Therefore, until they do not become capable of providing their children with quality education, medical facilities and best possible lifestyle they tend to avoid it. However, the decision of attaining parenthood in later years of life can have own merits and demerits.

On the one hand, parents achieve the maturity with age to take care of all the responsibilities of a child including monetary issues. This is because, their age and experience not only make them capable of taking complex decisions of young children's life but also stem some behavioral changes such as patience, and caring attitude that are imperative for being responsible parents. Therefore, it seems beneficial for both children as well as for families.

On the other hand, some health complications likely to occur while conceiving or giving birth to a child in older age. For instance, scientific research has proven that 40 percent of couples, who are above the age of 38, have been facing difficulties in having babies. Apparently, this is due to the decaying of human reproduction system and infertility with age. Thus, it might have adverse impacts on societies and families.

Taking into consideration above mentioned arguments, I would like to conclude that being parents at later years of life is largely a positive decision as it enables individuals to feel financially and psychologically secure inspite of some fertility issues which can easily be cured with available advanced medical technology.