Nowadays more tasks at home and work are being performed by robots. Why do you think it is happening? Is it a negative or positive development?

Today, technology innovations such as robots have become an integral part of our lives and used to perform various tasks at home and at work. There are several social and economic reasons behind the growing popularity of robots. However, in my opinion, the increase in unemployment and obesity rate, because of the extended use of robots, has negatively impacted the society.

First and foremost, our lifestyle has been changed dramatically over the years, and we have become super busy because of our demanding careers and happening social life. Obviously, this requires time. Since we all have only 24 hours in a day to complete all the targets, the requirement for time-saving gadgets increases. Robots meet this demand perfectly. They can do the household chores, such as cooking, cleaning, and washing, faster and more efficiently than us. For instance, robots such as Scooba and Mint can also do the wet cleaning of the floor along with vacuum cleaning. Furthermore, Robots can work anywhere in any environmental condition whether it is space, underwater, in extreme heat or wind etc. Robots can be used anywhere where human safety is a huge concern.

However, where robots are increasing the efficiency of many businesses, they are also increasing the unemployment rate. Because of the low cost of robots, many manufacturing companies had replaced the human workers, and working-class labor is unable to provide the basic necessities to their family. For instance, companies like Amazon and Walmart has replaced their workers with the automatic billing machine counters in their stores and this causes many people to lose their job. In addition, if ultimately robots would do all the work, and the humans will just sit and monitor them, health hazards will increase rapidly. The nation will struggle with the obesity issue among peoples.

To conclude, the growing popularity of robots can be attributed to the fact that they are highly efficient in terms of time and cost. In my opinion, it is a negative trend as people and nation both will suffer from social issues such as unemployment and obesity.