Nowadays, parents are allowing their children to use tablets and smartphones to enhance learning.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

In the past few years, modern technology has become accessible to society at large. More and more parents are relying on computers and laptops to make their children learn new things. In this essay, I will discuss both merits and demerits of using technology for learning.

Let’s begin by looking at the advantages of using tablets and smartphones. The main positive is that it supports social interaction and enhances communication skills. In other words, children can easily connect with their family and friends. Moreover, due to their advanced features, compact devices like mobile phones have become more than just a calling device. They can be used for entertainment and learning as well. Children get the chance to learn through various educational applications. Furthermore, playing games on smartphones, increases their mental stimulation and concentration.

Turning to the other side of the argument, excessive use of electronic devices makes children devoid of physical activity. It not only hampers their personal growth but also physical development. Another issue is that, children prefer isolation and become addicted to these devices. As a result, it adversely affects their interpersonal as well as social skills.

Considering both the sides, we can conclude that balance is the key. Although, smartphones and tablets have multiple benefits, reading and other physical exercises are also necessary for children’s overall development. I believe, the educational benefits of using electronic devices outweigh any drawbacks.