Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed What is the reason for doing this Is this a negative or positive development

In today's era, parents have plethora of demands from their children to have a successful life. In my opinion, this is a negative aspect as it can expose children to depression. This essay will discuss the reason of parent's pressurizing their children and it's detrimental effects.

Most parents believe that a required amount of pressure can help their children achieve personal growth and future contentment. A moderate control can truly provide an encouragement for children to flourish their credence and be focused throughout their school years, which in succession will motivate them. For example, doing studies and extracurricular activities with strict deadlines will develop children's understanding to survive in the demanding work environment when they are adults, which will consequently make them effective and efficient employees. Moreover, according to business insider magazine, over 65% of employers choose their member of workforce on their ability to perform under strain. Hence, putting children under requisite burden will help them to develop into an excellent individual with good surviving skills.

Although every parent wants best for their kids, they often end up stressing their children who can turn up to become stubborn and performing badly in school. Children who are constantly under extreme pressure by family, become depressed, under confident and have an increased anxiety, while culminating a pessimistic point of view. A study conducted by psychology department at University of Southern California, observed 50 children from ages 5 to 15 with different upbringing, for 3 years, and reported that 90% of children with extreme pressure to perform well were among the bottom 5% of their class and dropped out of sports and drama due to the fear of failure. Clearly, undue pressure on kids can lead to children becoming miserable and manifest disorders.

In conclusion, minimalist pressure on children proves to be beneficial, whereas, extra stress is detrimental for children.