Nowadays people have free access to music and films online. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Provide relevant examples from you own experience.

It is true that online music and movies are free and increasingly popular among people. Although there are some drawbacks on listening to music or watching movies online, I would argue that there are far more benefits.

The main drawback of the trend towards online free music or movies is people will never get the actual effect as they get in theatres. experience of a movie with intense special effects and graphics will be missed when people watch it on a mobile, computer or tv. Similarly, detailing in music will not be noticeable when you listen to them in your speakers or headphones as they are composed for high-end speakers to give the best experience. For example, watching the Avatar 3D movie on your television will be less appealing and interesting than watching it in theatres. Normal televisions or sound system do not have the necessary capability to properly present the actual effects and getting an advanced tv or speakers to get best out of it are too expensive.

Despite the negatives mentioned above, I believe that online free music and movies are a progressive development for various reasons. Firstly, they allow people to watch a film or listen to music in a flexible way, meaning they watch or listen to them whenever and wherever they want. Secondly, the cost of watching a movie in a theatre for a family is very expensive, so people prefer watching it in online rather than spending money on tickets and transport. Finally, online movies or music overcomes the geographical barriers, meaning we can watch the movies and listen to music which never got released in your locality. For example, my cousin who is in the US watches all the movies in online which would have been impossible if watching movies only in theatres was an option.

In Conclusion, while I recognize the possible disadvantages of online free films and music, I consider it to be a positive development overall.