Nowadays, people living in large cities face many problems in their daily lives. What are the problems? Do you think the government should encourage people to move to smaller towns?

People residing in metropolitan towns come across a numerous issues on daily basis. Lack of long term planning of metropolitan towns and increase in uncontrolled migration of people from small towns to large towns is root cause of many problems. In my opinion, the government should encourage decentralization of metropolitan towns to smaller towns.

The main problem faced by residents of large towns is inadequate residential area which force people to live in informal settlements. This leads lower income group and economically weaker sections live in non-habitable areas which lack basic infrastructure facilities like water supply, sewerage and solid waste management which are essential to live quality of life. Another problem faced by residents of metros is long hours of commuting to work from home which disturb the work-life balance as many hours daily are wasted on unproductive travelling which could be put to better use. In addition, this commuting wastes lot of petrol which is a major cause of pollution in metro cities and cause lung related diseases like Asthma.

Looking into the reason above it is evident that this uncontrolled urban agglomeration should be discouraged by government to give better quality of life to metro residents. Each town should be pre-planned to cater only certain amount of population and migration should be completely banned after attaining that population. In addition, government should facilitate smaller towns with better facilities like employment opportunities, better public transport, malls, and recreational areas. For instance, satellite towns around Ahmedabad like Sanand, Kalol and Kalpur are developed as industrial hub which encourage residents to move from Ahmedabad to these towns and alleviated the stress on infrastructure of Ahmedabad. This will encourage migration to smaller towns to much extend.

In conclusion, people living in metro cities especially lower income group people face number of problems from basic infrastructure to pollution. It is high time government should step in and make people to move to smaller towns by facilitating them with better facilities.