Nowadays people make new friends through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good while others think that face-to-face interaction is essential. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Friendship via social networking sites is becoming increasingly popular among people. Some people argued that It’s a good and convenient way to make new friends, while others have a different viewpoint, and want people to personally meet with a stranger for friendship. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence as to why face-2-face interaction is compulsory for friendship.

To begin with, advocates of having online friendships argued that these networking sites build relationships among people despite location. Therefore, such connections on social websites like LinkedIn enable people to find jobs with the help of their friends. It is often claimed, for example, that reference-based hiring has increased by over 40% in the MEA region because it is the fast, cheap and reliable hiring process. It is also argued that friendships over social networks would help people to learn about diversified languages without physically visiting the country. For an instant, a person living in an Asian country could get help via Skype to improve his speaking section to pass the IELTS exam from a native English friend without visiting him.

On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned positives. People give equal convincing reasons for a face-2-face catch-up. Firstly, having an interaction with a stranger over the internet, don’t provide the entire picture of the person’s characteristics. Therefore, the in-person meeting is compulsory to know more about his/her behavior to move the matter forward. Finally, the online friendship could be dangerous as no one knows the people speaking on the other side is involved in criminal activities, hence personal interaction would figure out their background information which helps them to build a long-term friendship.

In conclusion, I am of the view that although online friends help a lot to secure a job and pass the exam, I think personal interact is also necessary to check the background and know the real character of the person to build a long-term relationship.