Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing(for example, through cellphones tracking and security cameras).In many cases , the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. DO you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With advancements in digital technology, people are being watched through the mobile phone location system and security cameras. Most of the times, people don't know that they are being recorded and thus all of this happens without their consent. This practice can be questioned, but looking at the benefits it brings to society this should be enforced legally.

The principal advantages are the safety and security that recording devices bring to users. The mobile phone live location tracking system helps the parents as they can be connected to their children while they are away for work. Moreover, due to the installation of cameras in public areas, often episodes of robbery, ATM theft, and other crimes get recorded. This proves to be a piece of important evidence in solving the cases. To illustrate, it was reported in Hindustan Times that 309 cases were resolved in 2018 with the help of CCTV footage and the crime rate was reduced by 30% after cameras were installed at multiple places across Delhi.

On the contrary, tracking people without their consent is not ethical, and there is a possibility of these recordings being used appropriately. Some of the mobile applications collect users location data in the background and uses it for advertisements and promotions. In addition, the cameras installed in public areas record personal moments that they spend with their families and loved ones. This can get leaked or stolen which causes defamation to the individual. One such occurrence was, last month CCTV footage of a restaurant was stolen and some people were blackmailed for posting the videos online.

To summerise, the tracking devices are important as they increase security and people feel safe, but it has adverse ramifications if the footage gets in the hands of notorious people. In my opinion, safety, and security if the entire community is more important than a few extreme cases of misuse. With time, we will be able to make our systems more secure and thus personal data will be kept safe with the government.