Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.Why do you think this is happening?What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced.

In the contemporary world, human beings are generating an increased amount of waste. This essay will discuss the main reasons for burgeoning waste and will suggest the effective measures legislators can take to curb the enormous waste production.

One of the most obvious reasons is the abrupt growth of the population. With the rise in world population, especially in developing countries, the consumption has been dramatically increased which goes hand in hand with garbage production. For instance, tons of waste is dumped in Pakistan on the outskirts of major cities which will remain there for several years to come. Another reason is the change in the lifestyle of the people where convenience is the utmost priority for many. General public prefers to buy packaged food which is easy to cook, but contain a certain amount of packaging that is thrown away after the food is consumed.

Governments can take several measures in order to control the quantity of waste that is generated by its population. The first viable solution is to create awareness among masses to use the products made of recyclable material and packaging. In this way, corporates would come under immense pressure to procure degradable raw materials to manufacture new products that will ultimately reduce the amount of rubbish. Another solution is to encourage industries to install recycling plants so that waste is converted into useful products. A good illustration of this is Adidas, who has recently introduced a series of shoes made entirely of ocean plastics.

To conclude, the reasons for the exponential increase in waste is clear and the constructive measures at a government level, such as public awareness and installation of recycling plants would assist in minimizing it to lowest possible extent.