One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The improvements in medical assistance have a perceptible effect on society worldwide. Nowadays, people are living not only longer and healthier life, but also their life span average is rising up steadily. Although there are advantages of this progress, I personally think that the drawbacks far outpaced the benefits because it is a double-edged sword for the community in the long-term.

The only noticeable advantage of living longer is that people can stay even longer with their beloved, which, in turn, means that their knowledge and wisdom are inherited by their younger generation. Elders are an infinite source of information and experience which can help others to face many challenges of life. For instance, kids and adolescents can, empowered with that privileged knowledge, easily avoid the sweet temptation of drugs and others harmful additions.

On the contrary, there are two main drawbacks of having a sustained growth of longevity. Firstly, the number of humans on earth inevitably will rise. Under this scenario basic resources, particularly food, would be in high demand. This could provoke a shortage of food at global scale, badly affecting developing countries. Moreover, if people live far beyond the retirement age, they will not contribute to the economy at all, but they will still need to use the public services ( transportation, welfare, etc.). As a direct consequence, public administrations would irremediably have to raise taxes as a quick way to face that unexpected cost. For example, in Spain, due to its overwhelming number of retires, is the country with the highest taxation levels in Europe.

To conclude, although it obvious that elderly people can contribute immensely with their expertise, it cannot be ignored that society might witness a food shortfall and an unexpected tax increase.