Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can government do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Waste is been generated at an alarming rate in recent days. The main reason for this trend is the ‘use and throw’ culture followed by the citizens, and a viable solution to reduce the quantity of debris production is an awareness campaign by the government.

The ‘use and throw’ practice by the people is the main cause for the increase in waste generation. That is to say, a lot of single-use products such as disposable glasses and plates are available in the market, which enables the users to use them and throw away without having the tension of cleaning the vessels. As a result, a huge quantity of rubbish gets dumped around. For example, in India, 50% of the waste generated has been estimated as the thrown away plastic carry bags, which is a single-use product and less than 15-micron size thickness, as per the news report in the India Today.

An effective remedy for this situation is to conduct an awareness programme by the state. This is because this increasing trend in waste generation is mainly due to the lack of knowledge among people about the possible hazards it can cause to nature and the environment. If the government bodies conducting the campaign could explain and educate the citizens about the detrimental effect of this trend, they will deviate from this practice and will adopt the environment-friendly options such as reusable and recyclable products. For example, in Russia, a similar initiative has been conducted last year and thus reduced the annual waste generation by 30%.

In conclusion, the increased use of single-use products are the main cause of an increase in debris generation, and the government bodies could conduct an educational campaign against this trend, which could be a possible solution.