The only way to cut the crime rate is building more prisons and make prison sentences longer.

It is believed that the best way to reduce crime is by adding more prisons and making the detention period longer. To a certain point, I would agree with the idea but it is not the only way, as there are other alternatives that government could do to reduce the crime rate.

On the one hand, some people believe that by building more prisons and making a stricter detention period, it will be possible to reduce the number of crime activities. It is hoped that people will think twice before they do some criminal acts, as there are a lot of available rooms in prisons, and they could be sentenced for such a long period. For example, if the government set new regulation whereas bank robbers will be punished for a thirty-five years period of detention, then it is expected that people who plan to do this will consider all the consequences for a number of times before they rob a bank.

However, the government should notice that adding more prisons and setting a longer detention period is not the only way, as it should be integrated with other plans as well. In the common case, people do crimes because they have less skill, no money and unemployed, and as a consequence, they do some crimes for survival. Besides of the above-mentioned plan, the government should also provide skill training for low skill residents, therefore they could enter the workplace and would not think about doing some crime activities. And then, the government should also provide job opportunities for ex-prisoners, as in the general case, many of them were not accepted by the public and consequently, they returned to the crime world again.

In conclusion, to a certain extent, I agree that building more prisons and extending the sentence period would be a good plan for lowering the crime rate. But, it should also be combined with other plans such as providing skill course for the poor and create some works for ex-convicts, therefore the plan would run effectively.