Overpopulation in most developing countries in Asia and Africa is a problem. If these countries do not try to control the population immediately, they will face serious problems. What are your suggestions to control population?

The population growth in the world is already out of control and this is more daunting in Asian and African countries. The population growth in these regions is uncontrollable due to ignorance, poor quality of life, and the religious and social taboo against population control. In this essay, I will briefly suggest some issues that overpopulation causes and some ways to control it.

Overpopulation causes a complex set of problems that negatively affect the quality of life, increase crime, pollution and corruption. Increasing population create more pressure on the already limited resources in the poor and developing countries and an upsurge in population will simply make the situation worse. Unemployment, inadequate infrastructure, poverty, malnutrition, low literacy rates and high competition already make the citizens suffer a lot and if the population growth is not controlled, it will make things worse day by day.

Controlling the population in a country could not be achieved overnight and despite initiatives and educational campaigns, the result might come slowly due to the social and religious taboo and lack of education. However, proper steps should be taken to control the rapid expansion of population. First and foremost is to make the social movements and awareness campaigns more frequent, especially among the poor citizens to educate them the negative consequences they will go through if they do not control the number of children in their family.

Making contraceptives available for free among the poor population should be ensured. Finally, the government must impose laws and rules to restrict the family members. For instance, families in China are not allowed to have more than one child and if any family violates it, they are financially punished. This may seem cruel at first but the one-child policy has already given positive outcomes to many populous countries.

In conclusion, if the population keeps on increasing at the current rate, the world would soon find itself in the verse of war for food, shelter and medicine. Increasing population can only deteriorate the lifestyle of people and this is even cruel in poor and developing countries. The time has come to take every step possible to tackle the heinous speed of population growth and countries should work together to bring an effective solution.