Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems.Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

A lot of people claim that massive population growth of urban areas has its unfortunate consequences. In this essay I will outline few major problems of that question and suggest possible solutions to them.

The foremost issue of the overpopulated city is an increase of produced exhausted fumes. The more dwellers are in the city the bigger number of cars can be seen on roads. Not only does it lead to highly trafficked roads, slows down the travel and event turns it to a standstill during peak hours, but also it contributes to environmental pollution. This problem also affect citizen`s health. For instance, medical institutions in towns that suffer from this issue report increased number of cancer diseases and asthmas. Another striking problem of densely populated towns is that beautiful city skyline turns into concrete jungles. Enormous number of high-rises, multi-storey car parks, supermarkets, business centers, all that give the city an ugly face. Therefore, dwellers of towns that have that issue state that they are more stressed and have increased level of anxiety.

I firmly believe that these problems should be tackled by rigorous legislation because there is little than can be done by individual. Firstly, governments have to provide residents of the city with modern and reliable public transport system. Given this situation, the local council then can charge drivers for using roads in downtown. Also, local politics can make parking meters in the center of the city of a high price. All above measurements will stimulate people to use public transport more. Consequentially, traffic volume will drop. Considering second issue, it is strongly recommended to prohibit to build new constructions in historical areas and move residential areas to further suburbs. Taking into account above two aspects, and also if these suburbs are served by modern highways, the downtown will be no longer an attractive place to live in. As a result number of new buildings will be reduced.

In conclusion, I believe that overpopulation of urban areas has some severe problems that cannot be neglected. Although there are various ways to tackle these problems, I am of the view that they can be solved only by law.