In the past the main role of teachers was providing information Today with various sources of information available to students teachers have no role in modern education To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, advancement of modern technology has brought abundant resources of information which are easily accessible to children. Therefore, some people who narrow teacher’s role down to a resource provider, do not consider them as critical as before. However, I would argue that teachers remain the most involved in students’ education, and there are no viable alternatives to replace their roles.

It is not deniable that there are various easy access information resources like googles and on-line education programs. Unfortunately, it can be overwhelming, and students as well as their parents often feel confused about how to select appropriate choices. One of the teachers’ roles is to guide students and family to the proper resources and tools to facilitate their learning. For example, at the beginning of Covid-19 pandemic, school were closed without offering any remote programs supervised by teachers. Accordingly, there rose substantial complaints from parents who were left in darkness and had absolutely no clues on which on-line education materials they should offer to their children. This unhappiness was solved immediately once the teachers re-entered into the picture and guided parents and children to the resources corresponding to individual curriculum.

Furthermore, another vital aspect of teachers’ job is to counsel students as a life coach as they grow and mature. They tailor specific course and programs to tutor their children to integrate their social, emotional and physical development. A real-life example can be seen from special programs in school, which are designed for children with special needs like autism and development delay. Although parents have broad access to the specific education materials from all sources, the teachers’ hand-on and individualized tutoring is irreplaceably essential for these so-called spoon-feed learners who require unique training on emotional development and social skills.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that modern society provides numerous information resources. However, I firmly believe that teachers continue playing important roles in education system, because their multifaceted roles are comprehensive and far beyond providing information.