People are consuming more sugar nowadays and it is causing health problems.

Some people feel that the government should take responsibility, while others feel it is the responsibility of the individual.

Discuss both the views and give your opinion?

The rising rate of sugar consumption is the moot topic of discussion in today’s era. Nowadays People are using much more of sugar which is contributing to high levels of medical problems. Some individuals are of the opinion that the government needs to take charge of the situation whereas, other opine that a person should take the responsibility of his own heath. This essay would develop arguments favouring both sides of the views with proper validations as well as elaborate upon my position.

On the one side, people who believe that government should exercise authority to curb the current menace in the society due to over-consumption of sugar. As using more sugar is the prime cause of a lethal disease known as diabetes. This chronic disease by itself comes with many complications and implications. Like, first of all it is not a recoverable disease and If diabetes is not kept under control then the affected person is at a risk to contract skin problems, losing eyesight. Blood pressure as well as heart diseases. For instance, in India the second most popular disease leading to deaths could be attributed to diabetes. Before diabetes prove to engulf the entire nation’s population to the proportion of an epidemic. The government should take strict measures to curb the sales and even consumption of sugar to save the economy of losing its most productive youth to this deadly disease.

On the other side, others view limiting the use of sugar can’t be addressed by the government it is an individual’s responsibility to consume sugar in moderation and even exercise, as this kind of a lifestyle would prove to be highly salubrious. The government has to tackle many more major issues on the national front take for example poverty, illiteracy, pollution etc. So, we cannot expect the government to take responsibility of our personal health issues, which arises by and large due personal negligence to, health, stress management and even exercise. So for example, people who suffer from hereditary diabetes, who have come with preventive measures like cutting down on artificial sugars and following and regular exercise regime and their proactive actions have certainly proved to be instrumental in helping them lead a long and fit life.

To conclude, I would like to come with the opinion that controlling excess sugar consumption should be as an individual’s sole concern as it comes with individual long term benefits. As health is more crucial to life than wealth.