People attend both work and personal calls through mobile phone anytime of the day. What are the positive and negative effects on social and individual life?

It is an undeniable fact that mobile phones are considered as a key element of effective communication. Individuals consider that it is useful to attend professional as well as private calls anywhere and anytime. There are several benefits and has some contemplating pitfalls too.

On the one hand, it helps to minimise geographical barriers. To elaborate, one can easily interact with their loved ones using phones which will help them to stay connected with each other and it strengthen their bond. In addition, it plays an important role in productivity. For example, if there is any issue at work, one can instantly connect with team and can resolve it without being present physically at workplace. Also, owing to it, individuals can use in-built applications available in phone which can serve many purposes like, it is helpful for emergency dialling if any destruction caused by fire.

On the other hand, it can take away your social life. In a recent article in ‘The Times’ newspaper it was shown that people who are constantly on cellular phone pay less attention towards family members and hence, it has severe impact on family relationship. Furthermore, excessive usage of it has detrimental effects on health. The waves emitted cause several fatal diseases like cancer. Also, it would be dangerous to be on call while driving because, driver might lose concentration and it could lead to an accident.

To sum up, although there are negative impacts of overusing cell phones which are severe as it has impact on health, there are benefits which are undeniable.