People buy things which they don t need Why this is happening Is it a positive or negative development for the Individual and for society

In our society today a lot of people tend to buy things they don’t need. This trend cuts across all ages and gender. For example, you can see a teenager buy a car when he or she needs that money to start up a business. On the other hand, our politicians here in Nigeria waste resources on irrelevant and unnecessary things. There was a case where the Governor of Abia State which is in Nigeria was said to have used the funds released for infrastructure by the Presidency to solve his personal problems.

Regarding the issue of buying stuff we do not need, I think the major reason why this is happening is because of the lack of orientation on financial discipline. We need to make our citizens know the value of money and let the public understand that reckless spending of money will do us more harm than good. If we keep spending money on what we don’t need how do we intend to achieve our desired goals? On the other hand, another reason why this happens can be because the spender did not work to earn that money so he or she neither knows the value of money or the consequences of the choice they have made. Money is valuable! Spend wisely!

A society can not thrive on financial indiscipline. In addition, this is indeed a very negative development. We can not build castles in the air. When it comes to the individual, it is also seen as a very negative development. People need to be disciplined with their finances in order to record great achievements for themselves and the world at large.

In conclusion, we all need to know the worth of money and should not use it on irrelevant and unnecessary things.