People buy things which they don t need Why this is happening Is it a positive or negative development for the Individual and for society

In our society today a lot of people tend to buy things they don’t need. The trend cuts across all ages and gender. For example, a married man with his wife and kids buys a car when he hasn’t paid his rent for the year. On the other hand, our politicians here in Nigeria waste resources on irrelevant and unnecessary investments. There was a case where the Government of Abia State which is situated in Nigeria was said to have shared and used the funds released for infrastructure by the Presidency to solve their own personal problems.

Regarding the issue of buying stuff that is not needed, the major reason why this is happening is because of the lack of orientation on financial discipline. Everyone needs to take responsibility in knowing the value of money and also understand that reckless spending of money will do the people more harm than good. If money keeps being spent on what is not needed how possible is it to achieve the set out goals? On the other hand, another reason why this happens can be because the spender did not work to earn that money so they neither know the value of money nor the consequences of the choice they have made. Money is valuable! Spend wisely!

A society can not thrive on financial indiscipline. It can not work! In addition, this is indeed a very negative development. When it comes to the individual, it is also seen as a very negative development. Everybody needs to be disciplined with their finances in order to record a great achievement for themselves and the world at large.

In conclusion, I advise that there should be a complete orientation on financial discipline, so we don’t end up wasting our earnings.