People generally know that the environment is important. However, most individuals still do not take responsibility to protect it. Why is it? What can be done to encourage people to protect it?

Undoubtedly, climate change is becoming one of the most contentious issues of the twenty-first century. Even though most of us know the importance of the environment, people do not take initiatives to protect it from getting deteriorating. This essay believes that the primary reason for such level of irresponsibility due to people’s attitude and they must be educated about the dire consequence that will follow if this trend continues.

Majority of people think that it is the duty of a government to look after the environmental issues instead of taking matters into their hands. Since they pay taxes, they hold governments responsible for taking care of these issues. In addition, even if they try to assist in alleviating environment contamination, their contribution would make little to no effect in restoring our planet’s environment. For instance, a movement of call pooling was started by an Indian state named Delhi but after some days as its residents were not getting the anticipated results, they discarded this whole idea.

In order to pursue people to take responsibility for the environment, they should be taught about various aspects of the environment that have a direct impact on their lives. To cite an example, the government should publish reports of the worsening air quality due to which the cases of asthmatic patients are increasing. Also, holding seminars to spread awareness about how the single-use items are causing harm to our environment after either being buried or burnt. Certainly, such programs would assist people to realize to limit their household as well as industrial waste and take pro-active measures to protect the environment.

To conclude, everyone should realize their little contribution can go a long way to protect the environment. If governments try to teach and aware people about their responsibility our planet’s health can be improved drastically.