People living in the 21st century are enjoying better quality of life compared to people who lived in the previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Drastic revolution has been brought in the lifestyles of the people of the 21st century since the advancement in the technology sector. The quality of life has definitely been improved with the passage of time but there are a few drawbacks of this change which cannot be ignored.

First of all, the communication gap has been bridged all across the globe through the invention of mobile phones, wi-fi and internet. The whole world has been squeezed up to a small community where the interaction among the people would be without any hindrance. Secondly, the means of commutation and the development of an advanced infrastructure has provided a great ease of accessibility for the human beings. In the previous centuries, it would take weeks and months to travel from one place to the other but now-a-days, it has become a pleasure. Furthermore, the health condition is also improvised and the life-span of an average human being also increased due to the research in medical fields for the eradication of diseases from any community.

On the darker side, people are always threatened with the environmental pollution caused at the cost of the lavish lifestyle. The quality of air, water and land has been deteriorated substantially which in turn, would directly affect the health of the people. Asthma has been linked through the pollution in the air, diarrhea through water and several allergies through land pollution which has increased manifold in the 21st century. Moreover, people are suffering from depression and anxiety continuously, in order to meet the daily requirements for a high standard living.

To sum up, although the standard of living of people today is raised but it has also posed environmental and health threats as well.