Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Usage of shopping plastic bags, which takes a long time to get decomposed, result in pollution of environment. It is considered by some people that use of plastic bags should be banned. I completely agree with this view.

Although, plastic bags are easy to use, one should avoid using them considering their negative impact on the environment in the long run. Burning plastic bags releases harmful gases; inhaling these toxic gases leads to uninvited health issues. Moreover, consumption of plastic bags unknowingly by animals lead to their death. For example, the recent studies states, that death of animals due to consumption of plastic is increasing statistically every year.

Plastic wastage not only affect the species living on the earth, but also affects the species living inside the water. A teenage boy who was worried about the marine species developed a machine, which removes the plastic debris from the oceans. The amount of plastic materials collected from a small selected area on the ocean, shows that we have under-emphasized the repercussions of plastic usage. To take an example, fishes gets trapped by plastic bags and becomes pray for other large fishes.

Increasing the usage of paper bags, which do not take years to decompose, would help in controlling the utilization of plastic bags. The government should ban the usage of plastic bags, and should raise awareness of negative consequences on using plastic bags. If every individual provides their support to the government, in controlling the pollution caused due to plastic materials, within no time we could curb the plastic pollution.

In conclusion, cited evidences clearly states that usage of plastic bags ought to be banned promptly to save the environment from any further damage.