Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

One of the most vital and effective methods used to defuse conflict between countries and ensure safe expression of patriotism is organizing and participating in global sporting events such as the Olympics. From my point of view, team sports like rugby or cricket help to build relationships not only among teammates, but also between competitors from different backgrounds and cultures.

Sports and competitive activities between countries help to boost trade and ensures sustainable developments in participating nations. If a country hosts a global sporting event, such as the Olympics, people and companies from different parts of the world partake in it and spend money on flight tickets, souvenirs, hotels, and so on. Investors also take advantage of such events to look for opportunities to invest and start-up companies in such countries. Small businesses also thrive and the country’s economy is improved. For instance, since the award for hosting the 2020 World Cup event was given to Qatar, several companies have opened up business in the country and there has been a boom in the construction and infrastructural development as the government builds stadiums and develops locations for the event to hold.

In addition, sports help to initiate and cement peace and build communication between countries. Nations that have been in conflict on political or border issues come together in the spirit of sportsmanship and participate in sporting events. A very good example can be seen in the participation of North Korea in the Winter Olympics recently held in South Korea, even though both countries have been in conflict for some time.

To conclude, when people of different backgrounds and cultures come together in the spirit of sportsmanship, negative emotions are put aside, political and personal preferences cease to matter and everyone, athletes and viewers alike, enjoy the games as one.