Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time.To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Every individual has their own method of living. Some live with their never compromising attitude and do the things that make them happy without worrying the change in trends and some follow the trends and switch their hobbies and interest according to the fashion. It depends on individuals how they want to spend their lives.

It is true that latest fashion has changed over the time that eventually change taste, fashion and hobbies of people. Visiting the new and expensive restaurants or buy latest fashion clothes are the latest examples of changing trends. These people are very status conscious even they sacrifice their happiness. Around 45% of world population dispose their income just to keep themselves one step up in the society than others. Sometimes it is justifiable to follow the footsteps of the others as we also are the part of this society if we don't pace up with them we may left far behind.

On the other hand, some people without giving any concern follow their own rules and they do whatever that make them happy. For instance, a lot of people are crazy about playing cricket since they are kid they are so obsessed with their hobby that they want to keep it alive for the rest of their lives. This enthusiasm make them more livable. Involving in our own hobbies and interest can be a great fun in your own world but sometimes you ignore the world that exist outside of that and you may end up suffering by not following them.

In the end, both are necessary in humans' life. You cannot give more priority to one on another therefore, balancing is essential. Keeping yourself happy is equally important as enable you to be member of the society.