The population of most cities is growing as people move to cities to find work and new opportunities.

What problems does overpopulation in cities cause?

How can these problems be solved?

The prospect, which cities offer, appeal to many people in need of employment. However, when cities are excessively populated, it frequently lead in some negative results. This essay will consider these troubles and suggest possible solutions.

Let us with difficulties that newcomers pose on cities in search of jobs and prospect. The first problem is that it often leads to house scarcity. More families want to possess a house of their own, but cities cannot accommodate their needs immediately, so many people have to live either in cramped flats or in the street, which pose much inconvenience to other citizens as well as city authorities. Another problem is that it usually results in high unemployment. The flow of immigrants in cities may aggravate the situation with absence of jobs, so many citizens will complain that newcomers have taken their work. Furthermore, it may result in more congestions on the roads. The volume of traffic will increase to the level when it will become impossible for people to commute to work on time, because more new citizens will come and purchase cars.

To tackle these difficulties the government should take the following steps. Firstly, city governors should build more apartments. To deal with a growing number of the homeless, the government should allocate more budget for construction of apartment buildings, so that more families will obtain housing. Secondly, with financial aid of authorities, more entrepreneurs should open companies. The government can promote people to open new business by loan at low-interest rates and, therefore, provide more vacancies in the labor market, which will employ more new citizens and lower the resentment in society. Moreover, city architects should reconstruct streets. Construction companies should either widen highways or make some road one-side to reduce the number of jams on the roads, which are caused by the flow of immigrants.

In conclusion, although the flow of job and opportunity seekers to cities may lead to a plenty of problems, it is possible to solve them, if the government take the above mentioned actions.