At present, the media affects people’s lives significantly. What impact does this have on society? Is it a negative or positive development?

Art has regained some of its lost glory and governments have started realizing the importance of preserving it. While some people welcome this trend, I completely disagree with this practice as I believe there are several other critical functions for the public administration to focus on.

It is widely accepted that the field of arts not only represents the contemporary lifestyle but also helps us to reflect back on the lives of our ancestors. Historical artifacts like sculptures and paintings that are exhibited in various museums attract a lot of visitors and generate some revenue as well. For example, the Kohinoor diamond of Delhi sultanate is a very famous exhibit in the British Royal Museum in U.K. But I believe that the cost of maintaining the museums and the salaries of curators easily exceed this income .Therefore, no official can justify this investment in art as it is not of any benefit to the general public.

What’s more, other critical functions of the society like public healthcare continue to be ignored by a lot of countries. Large sections of the community especially the underprivileged are deprived of basic health amenities like vaccines and preventive health checkups. For Instance, the disease of tuberculosis continues to affect thousands of Indians even today. If the government had diverted some of the funds invested in art to these areas, India would have had a stronger young generation. Therefore, I believe that public representatives should start thinking about these vital aspects instead of spending money on the maintenance of art galleries and reviving lost art forms.

To conclude, despite the fact that art contributes a lot to the society and tourism in general, I would like to emphasise the fact that governments should invest most of the funds in crucial services like the public healthcare which help in building stronger nations.