Present a written argument to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:Safety standards are important when building people's homes. Who should be responsible for enforcing strict building codes – the government or the peopl

Safety of people is a somber matter which should be taken seriously and constructing houses as per the safety norms is an essential part of it. Some people think that we are liable for our protection and thus we must be entitled to make safety standards for constructing a house. However, I disagree with this notion completely.

Firstly, government has the power to impose regulations on the public. We elect a government believing, they will do the best for us and implementing new stern laws for the safety of citizens is a part of their job. For example, in certain provinces of India, it is a crime to build a building of more than four storeys because these areas are more prone to earthquakes. Recently, we all noticed huge devastation in Nepal, deplorably caused by earthquake which had cost thousands of lives. Later, the politicians there have made certain norms for the construction of residences in order to prevent similar destruction in the future.

Secondly, people in power have the rights and resources to bring a change in society. Conversely, a group of people is neither capable nor specialized to convert something. For example, even today more than thirty percent of population in my country do not use toilets. Although, many socialists have tried to convince people to start using toilets but their diligent work gets foiled. However, our new Prime Minister is quite rigid about this practice, thus made unbending rules for it and now the entire nation is following these regulations.

In the light of this, I would like to assert that although people can assist the government in the development of a nation by putting their efforts and by assimilating changes. But this does not make them completely responsible. Lastly, it is the duty of our politicians to take care of their nation and its citizens as well.