Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals.

How true is this statement?

How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

Psychologists have researched the effects of colors on people’s minds and feelings for several years. Thus, in my view, it is of significant importance to pay attention to the selection of colors while designing the interiors of places such as offices or hospitals in order to influence people’s working ability and promote health.

Use of colors in a working environment can deeply affect employees mood and mental health. Being surrounded with certain colors can impact on a person’s way of thinking and concentration. For example, the color of blue can make people feel sleepy, but the yellow color energizes them, as it is similar to sunshine. Therefore, it is a good idea to use bright colors such as yellow and orange in the offices, so that the employees are enabled to concentrate, feel energetic, and as a result work more efficiently.

By contrast, colors that are used in the decoration of hospitals are better to have a relaxing effect on the patients minds. Because most patients suffer from some sort of pain and need to rest. Hence, the use of moderate colors such as green , which symbolizes growth and renewal, as well as blue, which is peaceful, is recommended. On the other hand, using colors like yellow, orange, and red , which are stimulating, are not suitable for therapy sections in hospitals.

To sum up, the choice of colors plays a crucial role in changing an individual’s mood and feelings , therefore, they need to be carefully selected.