QS 2 There is not enough recycling of waste materials (e.g. paper, glass, cans). What are the reasons for this problem and what are some possible solutions?

Because our population is increasing the demand for products like paper, glass and cans is also rising.In our world today, all the waste materials we produce like paper, glass and cans are not recycled and a lot of them are wasted. This essay will discuss the reasons why recycling is in such low demand like absence of recycling factories and poor awareness among the public and suggest solutions to combat this issue like increased investment in recycling plants in developing countries and providing awareness to people regarding this issue.

Due to the climbing population, there is more demand for paper, glasses and cans. But unfortunately a lot of these waste materials are not reused resulting in pollution and loss of resources because of the presence of only a few recycling stations in many countries of the world. The reason why this is is because recycling stations are expensive to build.Running a recycling station requires costly machinery, skilled manpower and continuous electricity which many third world countries lack. For example, in Afghanistan there is no money reserved for recycling stations in the budget. Another problem is lack of awareness among the population. Most people do not possess the knowledge that recycling is important for the environment and they throw away these waste materials instead of giving them for recycling.

These difficulties can be solved if governments raise awareness about this issue and if first world countries start investing money in these projects in developing countries as they have ample amount of money to help out those countries who lack funds for these type of projects. They can help them by investing money and providing training for their workers which will allow these recycling plants to be be built. For example, China has recently invested a lot of money in Pakistan for these recycling plants to be constructed in Lahore and Karachi. Furthermore, the public should also be made aware of the importance of these plants to the environment and to themselves. This can be achieved by educating the public through advertisements in newspapers and on television and social media.

In summary, although recycling of cans, papers and glass is important, many countries around the world do not possess recycling plants. This essay discussed the possible reasons why this is the case which included an expensive cost and lack of awareness among the people and gave solutions to this issue which included increasing investment on recycling and promoting awareness about this problem.