Question .....

In the recent times, different kinds of music are emerging. In my opinion, traditional music is more relevant than the foreign one that is popular these days. This essay will discuss for one, the importance of music as a defense mechanism, and for another, its ability in dealing with boredom as reasons why people listen to music. For one, music is a form of defense mechanism due to its therapeutic nature. When people find it challenging coping with life and its drama, they tune in their favorite track or the one that reflects what they are passing through at the moment and sing along till they forget their worries. For instance, a recent research by the University College Hospital, Ibadan reported the significant effect of music in the treating depression and anxiety among newly diagnosed cancer patients. For another, music is also useful in dealing with boredom or monotony of work, so people play music during some active works to facilitate its completion Traditional music is enriching and more informative than the foreign one because it preserves the cultural values of a place, , and the language is clearly understood unlike the foreign music that mostly portrays instrumental and meaningless wordings. This is illustrated by a Cotonou song that was calling people monkeys, and Nigerians keep dancing to it because they did not have an idea of what the musician was saying. In the light of this, the information embedded in a musical track is more important than the instrumentals. To sum up, music can be a defense mechanism for every individual and traditional music are more enriching than the foreign because it informs us of our cultural values unlike the foreign, whose wordings are vague.