With recent developments in technology like e-books, some people feel that printed media like books, newspapers and magazines will be soon a thing of the past. Others feel that these forms of media will never disappear. What is your opinion?

There is no denying that the advance of technology in this era allows us to have better choices in life. Many people argue that the traditional form of media such as books, newspapers and magazines will be soon a memory. Others, by contrast, persist in the eternal existence of this form.

First of all, I understand the reason why there are two different opinions. To take psychology as an example, the feeling of holding a book on hand might satisfy human desire.

However, I agree with people who argue that printed documents will be soon disappeared and replaced by the digital form for two main reasons.

Firstly, thanks to the Internet, we have access to a wide range of digital books without movement, which is much more convenient than going to libraries. For instance, students with a computer connected could have the same books and university programmes with (the?) other students studying abroad.

Secondly, a huge amount of time and money needs to be invested to create and transport printed documents. In some cases, if these documents are valuable, it is unavoided that they will be ruined by time and by weather conditions. And if they are only for short usages, there will be waste treatments after. Once people realise how many financial and human resources these traditional forms of media waste, I doubt that we would choose to continue in manufacturing them.

In conclusion, even physical forms of media have paid the way for our civilization through centuries, I am not sure about the eternity of traditional forms of media.