In recent years children have been given more freedom than in the past.Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that modern children are more independent in comparison with their peers in the past. In my opinion, this trend has own benefits as well as drawbacks.

Giving more independence to children their parents may lead with idea that a child should has the same rights as adult. They may argue that having privilege to make their own choices children learn how to make their own decisions and it helps them to be ready for their future lives. For instance, my parents used to give me some amount of money every month and I had learned how to manage my budget properly as I was given the freedom to spend that money by my own. Thus, younger generation nowadays is going to be more open-minded and independent than previous generations because they are given enough freedom to choose their own way of life.

However, too much indulgence to child’s desires may lead to number of negative consequences. First, those children who do whatever they want may grow-up as spoilt brat without any respect toward the elderly. In addition, without enough parent’s observation and lack of control they may fall under the bad influence. For instance, one of my classmates became drug addicted starting from smoking and drinking with local teen band. Unfortunately, his parents missed the fact that he was communicating with them and learning illegal stuff. Therefore, it is obvious that adults should control their children behavior and set boundaries, which should not be crossed.

In conclusion, I believe that giving freedom to children parents should remember about the balance, the youngsters should have just enough space to make their own decisions, meanwhile certain boundaries, and rules should be never crossed.