In recent years , many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.Is this a positive or negative development ?

It is true that, shopping trends have changed a lot during recent times. Nowadays people prefer giant shopping squares over small shops. This, in fact, is a development in the positive direction as people donot feel shopping as cumbersome task anymore.

Firstly, this change has made it easy for the people to buy different products. Now they can get a variety of things at one place, rather than roaming around at various places. So, this has also decreased the frustation levels among the buyers. For instance, a survey conducted by Vmart revealed that customers were more satisfied when they bought products from a supermarket as compared to the local stores. About 80% of the buyers also rated their experience as happy on a feedback form. Thus, people find large shopping centers more helpful.

Furthermore, closure of local shops have increased the availability of space. Due to which, the crowding in the local areas have declined and there is less hustle bustle there. Such a change has enabled the folks to shop peacefully. Along with it, they donot have to wait in queues to buy the item as self-service is available in the big malls. Therefore, this approach saves their time and they can spend that extra time doing some other productive work.

To conclude, supermarkets have changed the lifestyle of people. They have contributed significantly to increase the comfort of the folks and now people feel shopping as their leisure time.