In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping center or mall to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

These days, people prefer patronizing bigger shopping centers for their shopping needs than buying from smaller shops in their neighbourhood. In my opinion, these development is more harmful than the benefits because it could lead to increased rate of poverty and higher cost of goods.

To elucidate, the most important disadvantage of shopping at the malls is that, it would lead to closure of the smaller shops. this is because there would be few customers patronizing them, the income made by these stores would not be enough to support the cost incurred on running the business. The business owners would need to find alternative means of making money to sustain their family and if not well-managed could lead to increase in the poverty rate in the economy. For instance, a family who sells daily needs items in the store in front of their house, if not patronized they would be unable to pay for their child's school fees or meet their daily needs.

Furthermore, another important issue shopping from big stores could cause is inflation. The majority of people in the society would be chasing the few goods available in the malls, thereby causing the malls to increase the prices of items to reduce the huge demands. Generally, this would lead to reduction in the standard of living of the people. because, only few people would be able to afford paying so much.

To conclude, big shopping malls are good as they provide avenue to meet new people, relax and promote business ideas but the overdependence on them by the populace is harmful to the development of the society.