Research shows that business meetings discussions and training are happening online nowadays Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

A study found that online communication is being adopted by companies in recent time. Its benefits are significant, far outweighing the drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are some disadvantages of working through online platforms. Firstly, poor internet connection from one of the participants can interrupt on-going work meetings. This means that those exchanges will not be effective. As a result, that company will not operate smoothly due to the lackluster communicating. Furthermore, it can be difficult to express emotions and body language in an online conference. This problem can be illustrated by the fact that the camera view is typically limited to the upper body or face, making it difficult to perceive and interpret non-verbal cues accurately. Because of the aforementioned reason, a training session may be more time-consuming than the one conducted in person.

On the other hand, communication over the internet is associated with several advantages, such as convenience and cost-savings which are greater than the shortcomings. In terms of convenience, with such a method, both remote employees and on-site employees are enabled to join work meetings in the comfort of their own homes. Therefore, the restraints of geographic distance will become irrelevant, leading to equal working opportunities for workers from all around the globe. In regard to cost savings, corporations that employ this practice will spend less money on holding meeting events since the fees of renting a physical location along with necessities for those events are out of the equation. Their remaining budget, accordingly, can be allocated to other sectors, namely marketing and material facilities.

While working online is disadvantageous in a few aspects, its benefits are more significant. It is recommended that all companies adopt this method of communicating.