The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern era, the people are become very busy with work that they don’t have time to cook and that leads to the increase in consumption of readymade food. However, I strongly believe that it is unhealthy and severely damaging the family traditions.

In one hand, although, the main advantage of taking fast food is that it saves time and, as time is money, so, the people believe that they can do more constructive work than cooking. For example, according to the survey conducted by Dubai University, nearly eighty percent of students prefer to eat junk food rather than cooking it at hostel as they can spend the time saved on studies and other activities. Therefore, people prefer to eat readymade food and spend saved time on other constructive work rather cooking.

On the other hand, firstly, the main disadvantage of eating fast food is that it is unhealthy and leads to major chronic diseases like obesity, high blood pressure and heart diseases as it is processed food and difficult to digest. For instance, according to the recent data published by Dubai Health Authority, mostly the having habit of taking junk food as meals are more prone to above mentioned illnesses. Secondly, this trend is diminishing the traditional family values of cooking meals at home and eating together. As people are buying the fast food from the outlet and eating it while coming home from work. Therefore, tendency of eating fast food is not only effecting health but also family values.

In conclusion, because of slight advantage of saving time, people are destroying their health and family customs. So, in my opinion, this trend has more demerits than benefits and government should take measures and starts campaign against it.