Scientists and technology experts seem to be more valued by modern society than musicians and artists.

To what extent do you agree?

The value of scientists and technology developers has increasingly recognized among society. It has been argued by some that their importance exceeds that of artists and musicians. This essay will argue that expressing gratitude and appreciation toward scientists and technology experts is completely favourable without devaluing artists including musicians.

People in general have always valued those who make their life easier. Since scientists and technology specialists had contributed in much of modern societies welfare, many tend to place them in a higher status than other contributors such as artists including musicians. In a fast and practical world, this might seem more convenient and logical to many. Indeed, a series of studies conducted by Harvard University suggests that the more practical and professional the environment gets, the more that people tend to devalue fine arts and music and cherish the material and theoretical work of art produced by scientists and engineers. The previous mentioned studies might give us a hint about why some people favour scientists including technology experts over others.

Despite the importance of scientists and technology experts and the significant role they play in our modern world, artists and musicians influential role goes back deep in human history. Art in its many manifestations such as paintings, sculpture, and music has been a driving force for human imagination and abilities and is considered by many to be the predecessor from which all forms of sciences emerged. For example, the need to document a certain scene drove ancient societies to paint. The same motivation led to the development of the camera and thus another form of art emerged, photography. Music, on the other hand has been a reflection of social conditions. Throughout history, man played his tones singing about his beliefs, life and past events. This form of art, music, preserved a huge amount of historical events, myths and traditions throughout the ages till today.

To conclude, in my opinion, despite the deserved recognition of science and scientists and technology and its experts, artists and music performers are still highly valued and the public are still enjoying all sorts of arts.