Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

historic buildings are one of the most precious heritage for people living there. those reflect their forefather’s lifestyle, culture, and beliefs. Whereas some people tend to build contemporary constructions by destroying historical ones, most of them support preserving them. I firmly believe that their originality and historic characteristics should be conserved.

The main reason is that preserving historic monuments would bring job opportunities and welfare. Since tourists eager to explore cultural and historical heritages, they generally prefer to visit historical places and structures. When they visit, they will need some needs such as booking hotel, eating food and buying some presents. For example, Hagia Sophia located in istanbul is one of the most attractive mosque in Turkey. it was built in 532 by Roman empire as a church and after the city was conquered by ottoman empire in 1453, it was changed as a mosque without destroyed anything. Every year millions of tourists come in istanbul from everywhere in the world to visit this mosque so that it is worthwhile for both Christians and Muslims in that it keeps continue its originality. that’s why there are many restaurants and hotels which has open for hundreds of years and those type of businesses are expanding in that area. I am sure that no one would visit this structure if ottoman empire would have been ruined it and build a new one.

Another reason is those old architectural buildings are more attractive. many adornments have been generally used on those and that makes them splendid. even nowadays, while little handmade products are valuable, huge and big monuments with those handmade products must be much more valuable. even if they handmade works try to be renovated they can lose their value. For example, Suleymaniye mosque has been build by architecture Sinan and it had an acoustic system inside the mosque and even a little sound can be heard but after that people tried to renovate something in that mosque and they ruined that acoustic system. after they tried to fix this problem but they could not. this experience taught me that historic buildings are irreplaceable and fragile, so people should protect them as much as they can do to respect their architecture.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that neither historic building should not be destroyed nor renovated without based on their originality. this is because, both those constructions are our tourists attraction places and we must respect their architectures’ achievements. there is no other place to live except the world, then, we should protect our heritages and leave them for our next generation.