Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's world, a lot of people prefer to join government jobs for the long - term rather than joining a private company. The government job provides a lot of perks and benefits to its employees which in turn they misuse these benefits. I think the long-term job seekers should do some voluntary work in return for the government benefits which will also benefit something to the community. In the next paragraphs, I will be supporting my statement with examples.

For instance, in government jobs, people get good benefits other than their salaries such as health benefits, provident funds, sick leaves and casual leaves. Along with these benefits, the employees also get certain concessions from the government in purchasing public transport monthly pass, in petrol, in taxes, etc.

As the employees end up saving a good handful amount because of these benefits, they should help the community with some voluntary work. For example, with these benefits, these people can donate some funds from their salary to the NGOs and the organisations that are working for disabled people. They could even help the people staying in rural areas by making them more aware of the benefits they could avail from these organisations for a better living.

In addition, working towards the welfare of the community will also build a healthy relationship with others in society. For example, the teachers who work in the government school can do voluntary teaching to underprivileged children. This small good deed of action can bring awareness to the children and the community who are not aware of the importance of education in today's living. The voluntary teaching will also give a sense to the person of the current situations that the rural community is going through. This teaching will also make a student be a better person in the future and would be able to contribute his share in the society.

To summarize, doing voluntary work in return for the benefits given by the government to its employees will be beneficial for both the individual and the society. On top of that, this kind of avenue of work will bring benefits to the community which will help for the growth of our country.