Should private schools receive government funding ?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Government funding has been at the heart of education industry’s finances since the inception of modern university structures. While, government institutes are managed by the government themselves and thus eligible to run fully on tax money, private institutions on the other hand are funded solely by the student fees collections and the promoter’s financial interests. In my opinion, private institutions play a vital role in the education infrastructure and therefore, should also be eligible to receive government funding.

Firstly, governmental regulators mandate a number of social responsibilities onto the private players which are financially non-viable for them and thus, need to be supported by the government. Moreover, in remote or underdeveloped areas, Private institutions often encounter financial gaps with respect to public counterparts which needs to be filled with government aid so as to keep the overall infrastructure from collapsing.

Secondly, governments need to fund research in areas which otherwise wouldn’t have been funded by the institute promoters due to their low short term financial feasibility. These areas are of little interest to the industry because of its long term and disruptive nature. For example, Research in areas like humanities or nascent new age technologies wouldn’t get financed because private organizations would fail find sufficient sponsors in these offbeat fields.

In conclusion, Given the utmost importance of education in shaping future of our society, Governments needs to play a leading role in supporting private schools with delivery of their social and moral obligations. In addition to this, government funding is also critical to the development of new age technologies and social research. Therefore, It is crucial to have an excellent coordination between public and private institutions, complemented by government aids, for our education system to flourish and outperform its predecessors.