Should voting be compulsory for all citizens or people should have freedom to choose not to vote. What is your opinion?

These days, it has become a growing trend for many countries to enforce compulsory voting system. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trend, although I am of the opinion that the former outdo the latter. for

There are a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most conspicuous one is that in order to get an authentic reflection of people’s perception in an election, each and every adult has to exercise their suffrage. Not only does it enable the citizens of a country to choose the right leaders they want to see in the government, but it also ensures that the country does not select the leaders who are not honest, sincere, dedicated and accountable. It hardly needs mention or Needless to say, all these upsides stand a country in good stead, when it comes to good governance and effective management.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that if people have freedom not to vote, many people will not feel pressure to exercise this democratic right. Unlike countries such as India and Pakistan, which do not force people to vote and so the turnout of voters is very low, countries with stringent penalties for voting such as Australia usually have higher turnouts, thus making the election fairer one. Hence, it is apparent why many are against offering any leeway to voters for the sake of democracy.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of mandatory voting system are indeed too great to ignore.